Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Five Finalists for Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award

Congrats to the five category winners in this year Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. The exposure they are getting is great, and soon there will be one overall winner from the 10,000 who entered back in January.  I wish all five of them the best of luck! 

For those who are considering entering for 2014, here is the link to six lessons that I learned from the process that might be helpful.  Last year one of my novels was a quarter-finalist and two made the finals of the Faulkner-Wisdom Novel contest.  All the best.

Also, I would strongly recommend reading your novels out loud when you edit, and do it more than once.  You'll be surprised by what you catch and the changes you make.
                 —Borneo Expat Writer 

** Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award is back for 2014!

Here are links to some of my author-to-author interviews of first novelists:

Ivy Ngeow author of Cry of the Flying Rhino, winner of the 2016 Proverse Prize.

Golda Mowe author of Iban Dream and Iban Journey.

Preeta Samarasan author of Evening is the Whole Day

Chuah Guat Eng,  author of Echoes of Silence and Days of Change. 


Beheaded on Road to Nationhood: Sarawak Reclaimed—Part I 


Angelina Bong said...

Thanks for the tips! I am in fact thinking of joining this competition next year :)

Borneo Expat Writer said...

Angelina, Thanks, and good luck!

M K said...

so maybe you know - the next year award (2014) will be in January too, as the 2013' was ?

Borneo Expat Writer said...

Hi, people are assuming so. Just googled a bunch of sites, including Amazon and they are still posting rules from 2013. Usually by now all the details are up, so I don't know why the delay since they only have a two week window of opportunity.

Borneo Expat Writer said...

Confirmed, It's back on, Feb 16-March 2